top of page

Hartlebury Castle: What a gem of a place!

Hartlebury Castle, nestled in the midst of a village called Hartlebury in Worcestershire, is a place that I had recently not heard of but stumbled upon recently when I was on my way to the West Midlands Safari Park. I saw the signs for the home on the Kidderminster Road and thought that would be a good place to investigate. So, on a barmy and may I say extremely hot Sunday, I ventured out to this stately home.


After travelling down the M5 and on to the road leading to Stourport and some very winding roads, I came upon the signs for Hartlebury Castle and parked the trusty steed on a very large car park which fortunately for us, had plenty of shade.


I had arrived just as they had opened and paid the entrance free with the very charming and knowledgeable staff member but made the decision to go into the restaurant, The Bishops Table, around the back of the house (notice I said house and not castle? All will become clear!) and took advantage of the facilities by ordering a blinking marvellous full english breakfast. The cost was nothing to be sneezed at as it came to around £9 but it was cooked fresh and I didn't have to wait long. Always a plus! And very delicious it was too😍.



Obviously you have to have the obligatory pot of English Breakfast Tea served at the appropriately named table!





So, why is Hartlebury Castle called a Castle when in fact it isn't and was a home to the Bishops of Worcestershire since time immemorial? According to the website: When first owned by the Bishops of Worcester, the site at Hartlebury was referred to as a ‘manor’. It officially became a Castle in 1268, when Bishop Giffard was given permission to fortify the site. Check out the website: HARTLEBURY CASTLE - Hartlebury Castle.


Fully replete with the breakfast and tea, it was time to go around the house and what a fantastic place it was. Video screens introduce you to the family as you go around the home and I had a great time wandering round as it felt like I was the only person walking round. You could easily get lost in this building. So, I do recommend this as a great place to visit and I hope you enjoy the photo's taken from inside the building (which the staff on site actively encourage you to take and there is no extra fee to do so either!).


Click on each picture to expand and I would do so too!








As always, thank you for your time and take care.


Linda

Flashing Perfect.






































6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page