top of page

The Morning After the Night Before

Close to where I live is a park. It's not a big park but its big enough to host football matches, basketball court and a small playground for children.


Going back in to my youth this was a place you would go with your friends and play football, cricket or play on the swings, slide and climbing frame so, at a loose end this morning, I decided to go and have a look and rekindle fun childhood memories.


What greeted me was an unkempt area of grass which had seen a lawn mower but only in selected places, rather like a bad haircut. Clumps taken out here and there with no semblance of order. Still, as we were coming out of lockdown and the council had rather more pressing things to deal with other than keeping a play area for children clean and tidy, you have to roll with the punches.


However, bins were either crammed full of rubbish or it was just strewn around, the play area hadn't seem maintenance for some time and it just looked like a forgotten piece of history in sharp comparison to the days of my youth where everything was neat, tidy and clean. You really wouldn't want to touch anything on this play area.


Undeterred by this scene of the leftovers from an apocalypse, I decided to take pictures of the area to show the decay of the area. Admittedly it had been over 30 years since I had been to this area but surely in that amount of time the area wouldn't have drastically altered but it had. An urban oasis now transcends into what is basically a bin with a bit of green.





















I returned home and as angry as I was, I put down in words what I thought of the area and added it to a slide show of the shots above.




So, even a little bit of poetry and history in one fell swoop!


So, thank you for reading and listening this time and as always, may your god go with you.


TTFN


Flashing Perfect





14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page